Alberta Golden Bears vs. University of Southern California in Exhibition Game

Photo: usctrojans.com

Tomorrow The Alberta Golden Bears men's volleyball team will play an exhibition match against the USC Trojans in California at the Galen Center.  The game will take place at 7:00 p.m. PST (8:00 p.m. MST and 10 p.m. EST) and will be the first match of the 2012 season for the USC Trojans.  USC was ranked #1 for the entire season last year ending their 23-3 season losing in the championship semi finals to UC Santa Barbara.  Alberta is mid season coming back from the December break currently ranked third in the country in RPI behind Trinity Western (2) and Manitoba (1).

It is interesting that this match is actually publicly being announced.  The NCAA has strict rules as to the number of exhibition games teams can play.  In Women's volleyball especially, those pre-season exhibition games are a very significant factor coaches have to schedule to attempt a better RPI for the NCAA Tournament.  The men's tournament is only four teams big taking the winners of each conference and one at large bid.  Last year when McMaster and Laval went down to the states to play some of the Californian teams, the matches weren't advertised at all, and even were referred to as a "joint practice" by Pepperdine.

Best of luck to coach Danyluk and his team.

We are going to try to find a way for Canadian volleyball fans to watch this match so check back to Kill on Two for a live video stream and/or scores of the game.

Live Score

Live Stream