Volleyball Source
Volleyball Source


CIS: OUA Men's Major Award Winners

McMaster's Jori Mantha has been named the 2013-2014 OUA Player of the Year. 

McMaster's Jori Mantha has been named the 2013-2014 OUA Player of the Year. 

The OUA has announced the Major Award winners for Men's volleyball, and McMaster's Jori Mantha has been named the Player of the Year. The fourth-year from Ottawa led the Marauders to a 19-1 record and was their leading scorer with 210 kills while averaging just over four points a game. He has also been named a first team all-star. 

Joining him on the First Team is his McMaster teammate, Austin Smith, as well as Garrett May and Phil James from Western, York's Ray Szeto, Ryerson's Rob Wojcik, and Waterloo's Scott Thompson. 

Ryerson's Adam Anagnostopoulos was named the Rookie of the Year, as he stepped in and led the Rams to a fifth place finish and a berth in the Final Four. The setting position was a huge question mark for Ryerson this year after Aleksa Miladinovic left for Toronto, and Anagnostopoulos made the transition look seamless. With 709 assists and 75 digs on the season provide little doubt that he was a huge key in the Rams success. 

For the second year in a row, the Libero of the Year award goes to Waterloo's Erich Woolley as he led the OUA with a whopping 227 digs, averaging 3.29 digs per set. He also got a kill on the season, which leads us to believe he may have also led all liberos in kills. 

The Dale Iwanoczko Award will be given to York's Greg Ivan. He paced the York Lions with 114 kills with a pretty decent .450 efficiency, and added 49 blocks all while playing on an ankle with destroyed cartilage. 

The Coach of the Year Award was will have Waterloo's Chris Lawson engraved on it for 2014. Lawson drove the bus as the Warrior went 16-4, finishing third in the OUA, as well as being ranked as high as seventh Nationally. They were also the team to shatter McMaster's unbeaten streak, and remain the only team to beat the Marauders this season. 

For the full story from the OUA, click here.

OUA Men's Volleyball Major Award Winners

Player of the Year
Jori Mantha - McMaster

Rookie of the Year
Adam Anagnostopoulos - Ryerson

Libero of the Year
Erich Woolley - Waterloo

Dale Iwanoczko Award
Greg Ivan - York

Coach of the Year
Chris Lawson - Waterloo

OUA Men's Volleyball First Team All-Stars

Jori Mantha - McMaster
Garrett May - Western
Ray Szeto - York
Austin Campion-Smith - McMaster
Phil James - Western
Scott Thomson - Waterloo
Robert Wojcik - Ryerson

OUA Men's Volleyball Second Team All-Stars

Danny Demyanenko - McMaster
Sean Mckay - Western
Jordan Dyck - Waterloo
Mike Tomlinson - Queen's
Jayson McCarthy - McMaster
Greg Ivan - York
James Evans - Waterloo

OUA Men's Volleyball All-Rookie Team

Adam Anagnostopoulous - Ryerson
Nicolas Pirnat - York
Warren Taylor - Nipissing
Jeff Ardron - Ryerson
Brandon Koppers - McMaster
Jordan McConkey - Waterloo
Pawel Jedrzejewski - McMaster