Canadians in Action: January 21st

 

A full schedule of matches on tap today starting early and going on all day long! Four matches CEV DenizBank Champions League matches will put four Canadians in the spotlight while the lone Bundesliga match features a trio of Canadians.

Champions League

Azeryol Baku (AZE) vs. Fenerbahce Grundig Istanbul (TUR) - 9:00 a.m. ET/ 6:00 a.m. PT

In the other half of Pool B, Tabi Love (Dauphin, MAN) and Azeryol Baku face off with one of the most recognizable sport clubs in Europe, Turkey's Fenerbahce Grundig Istanbul. Fenerbahce has is undefeated so far in Champions League and gave Baku their only loss of the season. The battle for top of the group will be one of the matches to keep a close eye on today.  

Stiita Bacau (ROM) vs. Nantes VB (FRA) - 10:00 a.m. ET/ 7:00 a.m. PT 

Canadian libero Tesca Andrew-Wasilyk (Unionville, ON)  is at it again in only her second Champions League match, this time taking one of the top teams from France. Bacau has yet to win a match in the CEV this season while Nantes' lone win in Pool B came against the Romanians. Can Tesca help them get a Champions League win?

Dresdner SC (GER) vs. LP Salo (FIN) - 1:30 p.m. ET/ 10:30 a.m. PT

After two straight losses at the hands of Italians Busto Arsizio, Dresdner SC is hoping desperately  to get back on track in the Champions League. Their record of 2-2 leaves the dream of moving on still very much alive, but without a doubt today's match is a must win. The last time they faced Salo, they barely came away with a 3-2 win. This time around, with the home crowd at their backs, Dresdner is out to prove that they're among the best in Europe.

#Dragons Lugano (SWI) vs. Tomis Constanta (ROM) - 2:00p p.m. ET/ 11:00 a.m. PT 

And then their was one. Canadian setter TJ Sanders (London, ON) did have Canadian teammate Steve Gotch to rely on throughout the first half of the season, but Gotch transferred to Noliko Maaseik of Belgium over the break. The #Dragons (yes, their team name contains a hashtag) come up against Tomis Constanta of Romania today. When you think of volleyball powers, Romania is far from the first country to come to mind. Internationally they're ranked 68th in the FIVB, but Tomis Constanta has been the major surprise of this year's Champions League. With a perfect 4-0 record so far, this small Romanian club has stolen wins from storied clubs like Italy's Copra Piacenza and Belgium's Knack Roselare. 

Bundesliga

SWD Powervolleys Düren vs. Netzhoppers - 1:00 p.m. ET/ 10:00 a.m. PT

The SWD Powervolleys Düren are looking to separate themselves in the crowded Bundesliga standings and have another great opportunity. Netzhoppers sit at an even .500 with a 7-7 record; good enough for the Eastern Conference of the NBA, but not good enough for German volleyball. Düren will keep hold of sole possession of third if they can come out with the win

*There is no stream available at this time for this match, which is rare for Bundesliga matches. We will update this page once we find one