Canadians in Action: January 28th

 

Champions League

Dresdner SC (GER) vs. Dinamo Moscow (RUS) - 11:00 a.m. ET/ 8:00 a.m. PT

It's do-or-die for Shanice Marcelle (Victoria, B.C) and Dresdner SC in the final week of the CEV DenizBank Champions League. The German club is currently in 3rd in Pool C with 7 points, 3 points behind Busto Arsizio. Only the top two teams from each pool advance, with the two top third-place teams also moving on. Dresdner will have to gain all three points for any hope of finishing Top 2 in their pool, but they sit among the top teams to move on as one of the two best third place teams. Even one point would help the germans move on, and one point may be tough to get, as Dinamo Moscow will be strong on their home court. However, in the opening leg of the Champions League, Dresdner did shock Moscow - could we see the same today?

Stiinta Bacau (ROM) vs. Fenerbahce Grundig Istanbul (TUR) - Noon ET/ 9:00 a.m. PT

With only one Champions League match remaining for Tesca Andrew-Wasylik (Unionville, Ont) and her club Stiita Bacau, might as well go out guns-a-blazin'. Their final opponent is the only undefeated team left in the competition - Turkey's Fenerbahce Grundig Istanbul. Would it be any sweeter to finish it all off the beating the undefeated? We don't think so!

Azeryol Baku (AZE) vs. Nantes VB (FRA) - 2:00 p.m. ET/ 11:00 a.m. PT

Tabi Love (Dauphin, Man) and Azeryol Baku have already secured their spot in the next round, but before they move on, they have to take care of Nantes VB. The top club from France won't be able to catch Baku, but with a win they could snag one of the two third place spots, meaning there's a lot more at stake than meets the eye in this one. 

Bundesliga

Rote Raben Vilsbiburg vs. Schweriner SC - 1:00 p.m. ET/ 10:00 a.m. PT

It hasn't even been a week since Kyla Richey (Robert's Creek, B.C.) transferred to Rote Raben Vilsbiburg, and already it's her second match. Vilsbiburg is one a roll of late - winners of their last four and Richey has been brought in to help the process. If they want to continue climbing the standings, they'll have to force a few upsets, and no better time to start than today. Schweriner SC sits in 3rd in the Bundesliga and defeating them would not only mean some important points in the standings, but also tell the rest of the league that they're back.

VT Aurubis Hamburg vs. USC Munster - 1:00 p.m. ET/ 10:00 a.m. PT

Four straight losses for Lucy Charuk (Tsawwassen, B.C.), Jenn Lundquist (Surrey, B.C.) and their club VT Aurubis Hamburg must be tough, and unfortunately for our Canadians, things don't get any easier with USC Munster today. If their not careful, Hamburg could be battling against relegation in the next few weeks.

SVG Lüneburg vs. VCO Berlin - 2:00 p.m. ET/ 11:00 a.m. PT

With Rottenburg's loss to Düren on the weekend, the 2014 Bundesliga North Team of the Year has a little breathing room in fourth position in the standings. Erik Mattson (Toronto, Ont) get a chance to widen that gap today when they face the winless VCO Berlin.