Canadians in Action: February 14th

Kyla Richey is in action today with her German club Rote Raben at 1:00 p.m. EST (Photo: FIVB)

Kyla Richey is in action today with her German club Rote Raben at 1:00 p.m. EST (Photo: FIVB)

 

Bundesliga

Dresdner SC vs. VT Aurubis Hamburg 

Noon ET/ 9:00 a.m. PT

A chance for Shanice Marcelle (Victoria, B.C.) and Dresdner to maintain their undefeated streak in the German Bundesliga.  Shanice takes on 9th place team from Hamburg this afternoon.

Rote Raben Vilsbiburg vs. VCO Berlin 

1:00 p.m. ET/ 10:00 a.m. PT

Vilsbiburg has been on a little life of late, dropping their last three games, and have a chance to end it today. Their opponent, VCO Berlin, sits solidly in last place in the Bundesliga standings and have only a lone win on the season. Great opportunity for Kyla Richey (Robert's Creek, B.C.) and teammates to end the slide and pick up three big points. 



Chemie Volley Mitteldeutschland vs. Netzhoppers 

1:30 p.m. ET/ 10:30 a.m. PT

A big win yesterday over VCO Berlin has Michael Amoroso (Toronto, ONT) and teammates flying high into their match against Netzhoppers today. The Pirates sit seven points behind the Power Hoppers and could make up some group with a second in-a-row today. 



LNV

Lyon vs. Narbonne  

1:00 p.m, ET/ 10:00 a.m. PT

Adam Simac and Toon Van Lankvelt are playing in the first LNV match of the day at 1:00 p.m. ET.  Their team from Lyon are hosting the 11th ranked squad from Narbonne.


Ajaccio vs. Tours 

2:00 p.m. ET/ 10:00 a.m. PT

Brett Dailey and Rudy Verhoeff (Ajaccio) are across the net from fellow Canadian Nicholas Hoag today when Tours visits Ajaccio at home in the LNV.  This will be a great matchup between #6 and #7 seeds heading into the final weeks of The LNV.



Béziers vs. Nantes  

2:00 p.m. ET/ 11:00 a.m. PT

Rebecca Pavan (Kitchener, ON) and Béziers are currently sitting in 5th place in the LNV Ligue A Feminine.  They take on third ranked Nantes this afternoon.



Tourcoing vs. Chaumont  

2:00 p.m. ET/ 11:00 a.m. PT

Daniel Jansen VanDoorn and his squad from Tourcoing are currently sitting in last place in the LNV as they host Chaumont.  Chaumont is trying to maintain the final playoff spot with a win today.



Also in Action Today

Jen Cross is playing Svedala over in Sweden with her club Engelholm.

Gavin Schmitt and Gord Perrin are playing Halkbank in their Turkish league for Arkas Izmir.

We originally left Fred Winters off today's post.

Sorry Freddy.  He and his Brazil club Sada Cruzeiro are competing in their continental tournament against Lomas De Zamora.

Tesca Andrew-Wasylik is in Romania taking on CSM Satu Mare with her squad Stiinta Bacau in the Divizia A1 league.

Bonus

Tesca was on The Volleyball Source Daytime Podcast this week, have a listen below. Better yet Subscribe on iTunes or YouTube.