FIVB: Women Dominant on Day 3

The women's Main Draw of the 2015 FIVB Fuzhou Open has kicked-off, and the Canadians are off to a red-hot start going a collective 6-0.

In Pool D, Jamie Broder (Victoria, BC) and Kristina Valjas (Toronto, On) got off to a rock-solid start. First they handled Radarong/Undomchavee from Thailand 21-14, 21-10 and followed it up with a solid 24-22, 21-17 win against the gritty Pata/Matauatu from Vanuatu. The battle for top in the pool goes down tomorrow with a tough match-up against Lauren Kendrick and Brooke Sweat of the U.S. You can catch that match on the live stream at 9:40 p.m. EDT/ 6:40 p.m. PDT on Court 2.

Next up in Pool F, Melissa Humana-Paredes (Toronto, On) and Taylor Pischke (Winnipeg, Mb) are off to a great start as well. First up was Giogoli/Cicolari of Italy, with the girls handing them a defeat of 21-19, 21-16. Next was Schützenhöfer/Plesiutschnig of Austria suffering their first loss 21-18, 21-14 at the hands of the young Canadians. To close it out tomorrow they will face Gallay/Klug of Argentina who are currently 1-1. You can watch that match at 11:20 p.m. EDT/ 8:20 p.m. PDT on Court 2.

Sarah Pavan and Heather Bansley celebrate a point during their win against Japan.  Photo: FIVB

Sarah Pavan and Heather Bansley celebrate a point during their win against Japan.  Photo: FIVB

Finally in Pool G, Sarah Pavan (Kitchener, On) and Heather Bansley (Toronto, On) made short work of both their opponents. Mersmann/Schneider of Germany was the opener and were handed a 21-15, 21-18 defeat. Next was a 21-12, 21-12 dismantling of Take/Mizoe of Japan. They've already clinched first in their pool, and it's likely they won't have a match to play tomorrow anyways. Their opponent, Xue/ X. Y. Xia of China forfeited their last match due to injury, and the match has been switched from Court 2 to Court 4. 

Josh Binstock (Richmond Hill, On) and Sam Schachter (Richmond Hill, On) are the only men's team in the Main Draw in Fuzhou, and they dropped their final match of pool play 21-17, 21-17 to Böckermann/Flüggen of Germany. Finishing 3rd in their pool with a 1-2 record, they drew Durant/Grice of Australia in Round 1. You can watch that match at 8:00 p.m. EDT/ 5:00 p.m. PDT on Court One. 

To check out the live streams, head over to our Fuzhou Open page!