Bundesliga: Canadians Fighting in Semis

Dresdner SC vs. VC Wiesbaden

Series tied 1-1

There's little doubt Dresdner had a target on their back heading into the playoffs. The defending champs, undefeated until the final match of the season, teams get up when Shanice Marcelle (Victoria, BC) take the floor. Dresdner coasted to a 3-0 (25-20, 25-21, 25-20) win in the opener, with American Michelle Bartsch leading all players with 18 points. Wiesbaden wasn't going to be dismissed easily though, and stormed back with an inspired 3-0 (25-22, 25-22, 25-14) win on home court, led by Dutch opposite Karine Muijlwijk and German middle blocker Julia Osterloh teaming up with 13 apiece. 

Next match is slated for Sunday April 12th at 8:00 a.m. EDT/ 5:00 a.m. PDT, when Dresdner will try to avoid losing two in-a-row for the first time this season and defend their home court. 

SWD Powervolleys Düren vs. Berlin Recycling Volleys

Berlin leads 2-0

On the outside, the story is going as it should be. Three-time defending champs, coming off a best-ever 3rd place finish at the 2015 CEV DenizBank Champions League Final Four, Berlin is undoubtably one of the best teams in Europe, and should breeze through to the finals no problem. Düren hasn't been able to go off-script just yet, but they've come damn close. The Powervolleys have made Berlin earn both wins top to bottom, and almost shocked the league going up 2-1 in game two before Berlin stormed back to take the fifth 15-11. 

It's do-or-die now for Blair Bann (Edmonton, Ab) and Ciaran McGovern (Grande Prairie, Ab), trailing by two games in a best of five series, they need a win on Thursday April 9th at 1:30 p.m. EDT/ 10:30 a.m. PDT for a chance to continue the season. 

SVG Lüneburg vs. VfB Friedrichshafen

Friedrichshafen leads 2-0

Unfortunately, the fairytale can't last forever. From the Bundesliga North to top four in the Bundesliga in a single season is a gigantic leap, but it looks like the road ends here for SVG Lüneburg. Both matches have gone to Friedrichshafen handily, and Lüneburg is struggling to find an answer for their high powered offence. 

Erik Mattson (Toronto, On) and teammates go for the 100%-Disney-certified-come-from-behind-series-win, or the start of it anyways, Wednesday April 8th at 2:00 p.m. EDT/ 11:00 a.m. PDT.