Volleyball Source
Volleyball Source
Mikasa_Tip.jpeg

News

LIVE: Beach Volleyball Day 4

It's another big day on Copacabana Beach! Day 4 brings tons of action, as the second half of the tournament will play their second match. Here what you need to know to get you started.

🇨🇦 Saxton/Schalk vs. 🇧🇷 Evandro/Pedro - 9:00 a.m. EST / 6:00 a.m. PST (TSN 2)

Canadians Ben Saxton and Chaim Schalk will kick-off day four, taking on the hometown favourites Evandro/Pedro. Both teams dropped their opening match in three sets and will be hungry to even out their record in the Pool of Death.

🇱🇻 Samoilovs/Smedins vs. 🇨🇺 Diaz/Gonzalez - 2:30 p.m. EST / 11:30 a.m. PST

The other half of the Pool of Death - this match is guaranteed fireworks with two offensively powered teams. The Latvians are currently one of the hottest teams in the world and ranked #1, while the Cubans are dangerously unknown and upset Evandro/Pedro on their own court to open competition.

🇨🇦 Broder/Valjas vs. 🇩🇪 Ludwig/Walkenhorst - 5:30 p.m. EST / 2:30 p.m. PST

Jamie Broder and Kristina Valjas opened the Olympics with a big with over Italy, but they raise the stakes considerably today against Germany's Laura Ludwig and Kira Walkenhorst. The Germans are leading the FIVB this season with five gold medals, and have only been off the podium twice all season. 

🇨🇦 Pavan/Bansley vs. 🇨🇭 Heidirch/Zumkehr - 11:00 p.m. EST / 8:00 p.m. PST

The first 'Midnight Madness' match for Sarah Pavan and Heather Bansley, the pair will have to be at their best to maintain top spot in Pool E. Fresh off of silver medal finish at the Klagenfurt Major, Nadine Zumkehr and Joana Heidrich are not a team you can sleep on.

 

Morning

MenCanadaSaxton/Schalkvs.BrazilEvandro/Pedro9:00 a.m. EST/ 6:00 a.m. PST
MenUSALucena/Dalhauseurvs.MexicoOntiveros/Virgen10:00 a.m. EST/ 7:00 a.m. PST
WomenItalyMenegatti/Giombinivs.EgyptElghobashy/Mewad11:00 a.m. EST/ 8:00 a.m. PST
WomenPolandKolosinka/Brozstekvs.RussiaBirlova/Ukolova12:00 p.m. EST/ 9:00 a.m. PST

Afternoon

MenLatviaSamoilovs/Smedinsvs.CubaDiaz/Gonzalez2:30 p.m. EST/ 11:30 a.m. PST
WomenBrazilLarissa/Talitavs.USAFendrick/Sweat3:30 p.m. EST/ 12:30 p.m. PST
MenNetherlandsNummerdor/Varenhorstvs.PolandFijalek/Prudel4:30 p.m. EST/ 1:30 p.m. PST
WomenCanadaBroder/Valjasvs.GermanyLudwig/Walkenhorst5:30 p.m. EST/ 2:30 p.m. PST

Night

WomenGermanyBorger/Buthevs.NetherlandsVan Gestel/Van der Vlist8:00 p.m. EST/ 5:00 p.m. PST
MenItalyNicolai/Lupovs.TunisiaNaceur/Belhaj9:00 p.m. EST/ 6:00 p.m. PST
MenRussiaKrasilnikov/Semenovvs.ChileGrimalt/Grimalt10:00 p.m. EST/ 7:00 p.m. PST
WomenCanadaPavan/Bansleyvs.SwitzerlandHeidrich/Zumkehr11:00 p.m. EST/ 8:00 p.m. PST