CEV: Champions League Round 3 - Leg 1 (M)

CEV: Champions League Round 3 - Leg 1 (M)

FIVB: Maple Volleys Kick Off World League Finals

FIVB: Maple Volleys Kick Off World League Finals

The Maple Volleys 2017 World League campaign continues tonight as they travel to Brazil after qualifying for the Final Six for the first time since 2013. They take on the hosts at 2:00 p.m. ET. 

Finishing 5th in the intercontinental round with a 5-4 record, Canada will be in pool J1 alongside hosts Brazil and Russia. The Maple Volleys fell 3-1 to the defending Olympic Champions in Week 2, and haven't faced Russia since the Quarterfinals at the Rio Olympic Games last summer. This is also the same pool as the 2013 World League Finals, in which Canada upset Russia 3-2 but failed to move on to the semi-finals. 

They face Russia on Wednesday once again at 2:00 ET. With no meeting duering t

On the other side in pool J1, the USA - who started the World League 0-3 but have been red hot since then, will be fighting against defending World League champs Serbia and red hot France. France is coming into the finals as favourites after going 8-1 in the intercontinental round and welcoming superstar Earvin N'Gapeth back into the starting line-up. 

The top two teams from each pool will move on to the semis on Friday, with the Gold and Bronze medal games to be played on Sunday. All Canadian matches can be found on cbcsports.ca and all World League matches can be found live on YouTube. 

馃嚚馃嚘 Canada vs. 馃嚙馃嚪 Brazil - July 4th @ 2:00 p.m. ET / 11:00 a.m. PT

馃嚚馃嚘 Canada vs. 馃嚪馃嚭 Russia - July 5th @ 2:00 p.m. ET / 11:00 a.m. PT

PREMIER LEAGUE: Week 2 Preview

PREMIER LEAGUE: Week 2 Preview

It's time for Week 2 of the ONE Volleyball Premier League! Last week's kick-off was a great start to the summer - but now it's time to get down to the nitty gritty

Madawaska Madmen vs. Investors Group (M)  - 7:00 pm ET

The Madawaska Madmen (1-0) opened the Premier League with an explosive win over Team ONE, but will face some competition for the Investors Group (0-1) in this week's match. 

The Madmen featured a two-headed attack led by outsides Joren Zeeman and Ray Szeto in their win last week, and have plenty more to offer with a stacked line-up that includes current Pros Erik Mattson as libero and Andre Brown in the middle. 

While the Investors Group suffered a loss last week, they proved they were going to be one of the grittiest teams in the league as the kept pace with the high-powered Unity offense last week despite rolling the lineup and trying some different pairings. Lucas Coleman led things with 14 points and a 64% efficiency while his former Ryerson Rams teammate Uchenna Ofoha added 13 including a massive 8 blocks at the net. 


Unity vs. Titans (W) - 7:00 pm ET

Two teams that started the Premier League on the wrong foot have a chance to even things up tonight!

Unity (0-1) fell 1-3 to Q2 Sports, including an embarrassing 25-12 fourth-set, and will be looking to prove they are one of the top teams to deal with. They were rolling their lineups quite a bit, so maybe we'll see them settle into their lineup a little more in Week 2. 

Led down the middle last week with Alley Newman scoring 11 and Ashley Simac adding 8, this team will be a handful if they can find some consistent scoring on the outside. 

The Titans will also be looking to bounce back from a less-than-stellar first week after falling quickly to Galaxy 3-0. Making an eye-opening 27 errors over three-sets, the Titans failed to get any type of rhythm going and had a paltry 28% efficiency at the net. Taylor Brisebois and Natalie Buck both threw down 8 points last week - numbers that are going to need to be much higher if the Titans want to avoid going 0-2.


Unity vs. ONE (M) - 9:00 pm ET

If any match tonight is going to be a slug-fest - it'll be when Unity (1-0) takes on Team ONE (0-1).

Unity kicked off the league by showing off their high powered offence to the World - and boy, did they deliver. Terrell Bramwell led the show with 19 points, while Oleh Kovalchuk added 17 with a 62% efficiency and #1 pick Steve Hunt chipped in with 15.

The scary thing? They were getting scoring from the entire lineup - even setter Aleksa Miladinovic picked up 7 points and libero Matt McGirr added 2 aces (yes, liberos can serve!). 

This match could also be the Battle of the Brothers - if ONE decides they want to play Taylor Hunt this week. In Week 1, Hunt who has a few professional seasons under his belt, found himself on the bench for the entirety of the match after showing up late (we presume). 

If Hunt is to play in the one - adding him to a lineup that already includes Jori Mantha and Alex Duncan-Thibault - ONE has the fire-power to go shot-for-shot with Unity. 


Q2 Sports vs. Galaxy (W) - 9:00 pm ET

One of these teams will leave Week 2 as the early Premier League favourites. But which one? 

Q2 Sports (1-0) and Galaxy (1-0) both threw down some strong performances in Week 1, and will need to back-it up big time this week. 

Q2 was dominant in their win over Unity last week - putting up the biggest offensive numbers of any of woman's teams in Week 1. Former UBC Thunderbird Carla Bradstock set a masterful game and added 8 points to the three-headed monster that was Danielle Walker, Lauren Stirling and Rebecca Glancy who scored 17, 13, and 12 respectively. 

For team Galaxy, the pairing of Stephanie Neville and Kelly Nyhof is already proving they can be the best one-two punch in the league. Neville led the way with 12 and Nyhof added - all with Veronica Livingston getting the majority of the sets and swinging an uncharacteristic 19% for only 5 points. Once the fiery redhead from Ryerson gets going - Galaxy will be a three-headed dragon that could be very difficult to deal with. 

CCAA: Men's Medal Matches

CCAA: Men's Medal Matches

We're in London, Ontario for the Finals of CCAA season and to crown a new National Championships!

Check out the Bronze and Gold Medal Matches tonight.

Bronze Medal Match - Fanshawe Falcons vs. Medicine Hat Rattlers - 6:00 p.m. ET

Gold Medal Match - Red Deer Kings vs. Limoilou Titans

One Volleyball: Challenger Series No. 1

One Volleyball: Challenger Series No. 1

Volleyball Source is proud to bring you coverage of the inaugural One Volleyball Challenger Series tournament from the Scarborough Pan Am Centre in Toronto, Ontario.

The Challenger Series aims to bring the highest level of senior volleyball in the GTA as they compete for a cool $1000 1st-place prize. Eight teams per gender will compete for the cash prize and for ultimate bragging rights!

Learn More about One Volleyball. 

Tournament Schedule and Rosters. 


Teams

Women

  1. Prime
  2. Next Gen
  3. Team Rye
  4. Heat
  5. Blaze
  6. Hot Pink
  7. Dim Sum
  8. Mohawk Alumn

Men

  1. Team Gary
  2. Team Leisure
  3. Traffic
  4. Eastern Block
  5. The Eh Team
  6. College M8's
  7. Lost and Confused
  8. Benchwarmers

Make sure to follow Volleyball Source on Instagram and Snapchat to get live updates throughout the day!

Don't miss the Men's Finals live at 4:30 p.m. ET!

CEV: Men's Champions League

CEV: Men's Champions League

The 2016-2017 CEV Champions League is finally upon us! And not a moment too soon. The top professional clubs from all over Europe will compete to be crowned Kings of Europe!

Those who follow the Champions League regularly will know that this year's edition is starting far later than before due to changes in the format allowing every National Federation a spot in the competition. The Main Round is actually Round 4 - with eight teams who qualified through the first three rounds joining 12 previously seeded teams.

Pool A

RussiaDinamo Moscow
BelgiumNoliko Maaseik
PolandZaksa Kedxierzyn-Kozle
TurkeyIstanbul BBSK

Pool B

PolandAsseco Resovia Rzeszow
ItalyCucine Lube Civitanova
GermanyBerlin Recycling Volleys
CzechDukla Liberec

Pool C

RussiaZenit Kazan
TurkeyArkas Izmir
GermanyVfB Friedrichshafen
FranceParis Volley

Pool D

PolandPGE Skra Belchatow
ItalyAzimut Modena
鈥淩omania鈥S.C.M. 鈥淯鈥 Craiova
SloveniaACH Volley Ljublana

Pool E

RussiaBelogorie Belgorode
ItalySir Safetu Perugia
TurkeyHalkbank Ankara
BelgiumKnack Roeselare

Schedule

December 6th

PolandPGE Skra Belchatowvs.鈥淩omania鈥S.C.M. 鈥淯鈥 Craiova11:00 a.m. ET/ 8:00 a.m. PT
TurkeyIstanbul BBSKvs.PolandZaksa Kedxierzyn-KozleNoon ET/ 9:00 a.m. PT
ItalyCucine Lube Civitanovavs.GermanyBerlin Recycling Volleys1:30 p.m. ET/ 10:30 a.m. PT
FranceParis Volleyvs.GermanyVfB Friedrichshafen1:30 p.m. ET/ 11:30 a.m. PT
ItalyAzimut Modenavs.SloveniaACH Volley Ljubljana3:00 p.m. ET/ Noon PT

December 7th

TurkeyHalkbank Ankaravs.ItalySir Safetu Perugia11:30 a.m. ET/ 8:30 a.m. PT
RussiaDinamo Moscowvs.BelgiumNoliko Maaseik1:00 p.m. ET/ 10:00 a.m. PT
RussiaZenit Kazanvs.TurkeyArkas Izmir1:30 p.m. ET/ 10:30 a.m. PT

December 8th

PolandAsseco Resovia Rzeszowvs.CzechDukla LiberecNoon ET/ 9:00 a.m. PT
BelgiumKnack Roeselarevs.RussiaBelogorie Belgorode2:30 p.m. ET/ 11:30 a.m. PT

Volleyball Live Streams: October 8, 2016

Volleyball Live Streams: October 8, 2016

Italy

Serie A2

  • Grottazzolina vs. Mater Castellana Grotte (Live Stream) - 03:30 p.m. EST
  • BCC Castellana Grotte vs. Lagonegro (Live Stream) - 03:30 p.m. EST

Serie A1 Female

  • All Star Blue vs. All Star White - (Live Stream) - 03:30 p.m. EST

 

CEV

  • Greece vs. Spain - CEV European Championship Men - (Live Stream) - 01:00 p.m. EST
  • Torpedo Chelyabinsk vs. Yugra-Samotlor - Russian Cup Men - (Live Stream) - 10:00 a.m. EST
  • MGTU Moscow vs. NOVA Novokuybyishe - Russian Cup Men - (Live Stream) - 10:00 a.m. EST
  • Zenit KAZAN vs. Ural UFA - Russian Cup Men - (Live Stream) - 12:30 p.m. EST ( 聽 Matt Anderson plays for Zenit KAZAN. )
  • Dinamo MOSCOW vs. Kuzbass KEMEROVO - Russian Cup Men - (Live Stream) - 12:30 p.m. EST

Photo: cev

LIVE: Indoor Volleyball Day 4

LIVE: Indoor Volleyball Day 4

Day 4 of the Olympic indoor volleyball competition is here, and the Maple Volleys are ready to do battle once again after a huge 3-0 over the United States to open the games. 

It gets no easier today, playing in the primetime slot against the No. 1 team in the world and hosts, Brazil. Canada will have to back up their stellar performance on Sunday in front of 11,000 Brazilians who won't be so friendly this time around. 

Brazil opened the tournament a little rocky by dropping the first set to Mexico, but bounced back to secure the win. A team that has medalled in every major event since the early 2000's, the home squad are definite favourites. 

While their last encounter was a 3-0 win in favour of Brazil at the 2014 World Championships, Canadian fans won't soon forget an epic five-setter back in 2012, just before the London Olympics, where Canada knocked down the Brazilian legends. And given what we've seen so far from this team - nothing is out of the question.

馃嚭馃嚫 USA vs. 馃嚠馃嚬 Italy

If you're looking for something to do to pass this afternoon, the Italy vs. USA match would be a good place to direct your attention. Two of the most dynamic offences in the world should provide for some serious entertainment.

The U.S. is looking to bounce back from their lackluster game against Canada, while Italy is coming off an impressive 3-0 spanking France - not an easy feat these days. To add fuel to the fire the Italians are the ones who abruptly ended the U.S.'s 2012 Olympic run in the quarters - something the Americans aren't like to soon forget. 

Morning

MenRussiaRussiavs.ArgentinaArgentina8:30 a.m. EST/ 5:30 a.m. PST
MenFranceFrancevs.MexicoMexico10:30 a.m. EST/ 7:30 a.m. PST

Afternoon

MenItalyItalyvs.USAUSA2:00 p.m. EST/ 11:00 a.m. PST
MenPolandPolandvs.IranIran4:00 p.m. EST/ 1:00 p.m. PST

Night

MenCubaCubavs.EgyptEgypt7:30 p.m. EST/ 4:30 p.m. PST
MenCanadaCanadavs.BrazilBrazil9:30 p.m. EST/ 6:30 p.m. PST

LIVE: Beach Volleyball Day 4

LIVE: Beach Volleyball Day 4

It's another big day on Copacabana Beach! Day 4 brings tons of action, as the second half of the tournament will play their second match. Here what you need to know to get you started.

馃嚚馃嚘 Saxton/Schalk vs. 馃嚙馃嚪 Evandro/Pedro - 9:00 a.m. EST / 6:00 a.m. PST (TSN 2)

Canadians Ben Saxton and Chaim Schalk will kick-off day four, taking on the hometown favourites Evandro/Pedro. Both teams dropped their opening match in three sets and will be hungry to even out their record in the Pool of Death.

馃嚤馃嚮 Samoilovs/Smedins vs. 馃嚚馃嚭 Diaz/Gonzalez - 2:30 p.m. EST / 11:30 a.m. PST

The other half of the Pool of Death - this match is guaranteed fireworks with two offensively powered teams. The Latvians are currently one of the hottest teams in the world and ranked #1, while the Cubans are dangerously unknown and upset Evandro/Pedro on their own court to open competition.

馃嚚馃嚘 Broder/Valjas vs. 馃嚛馃嚜 Ludwig/Walkenhorst - 5:30 p.m. EST / 2:30 p.m. PST

Jamie Broder and Kristina Valjas opened the Olympics with a big with over Italy, but they raise the stakes considerably today against Germany's Laura Ludwig and Kira Walkenhorst. The Germans are leading the FIVB this season with five gold medals, and have only been off the podium twice all season. 

馃嚚馃嚘 Pavan/Bansley vs. 馃嚚馃嚟 Heidirch/Zumkehr - 11:00 p.m. EST / 8:00 p.m. PST

The first 'Midnight Madness' match for Sarah Pavan and Heather Bansley, the pair will have to be at their best to maintain top spot in Pool E. Fresh off of silver medal finish at the Klagenfurt Major, Nadine Zumkehr and Joana Heidrich are not a team you can sleep on.

Morning

MenCanadaSaxton/Schalkvs.BrazilEvandro/Pedro9:00 a.m. EST/ 6:00 a.m. PST
MenUSALucena/Dalhauseurvs.MexicoOntiveros/Virgen10:00 a.m. EST/ 7:00 a.m. PST
WomenItalyMenegatti/Giombinivs.EgyptElghobashy/Mewad11:00 a.m. EST/ 8:00 a.m. PST
WomenPolandKolosinka/Brozstekvs.RussiaBirlova/Ukolova12:00 p.m. EST/ 9:00 a.m. PST

Afternoon

MenLatviaSamoilovs/Smedinsvs.CubaDiaz/Gonzalez2:30 p.m. EST/ 11:30 a.m. PST
WomenBrazilLarissa/Talitavs.USAFendrick/Sweat3:30 p.m. EST/ 12:30 p.m. PST
MenNetherlandsNummerdor/Varenhorstvs.PolandFijalek/Prudel4:30 p.m. EST/ 1:30 p.m. PST
WomenCanadaBroder/Valjasvs.GermanyLudwig/Walkenhorst5:30 p.m. EST/ 2:30 p.m. PST

Night

WomenGermanyBorger/Buthevs.NetherlandsVan Gestel/Van der Vlist8:00 p.m. EST/ 5:00 p.m. PST
MenItalyNicolai/Lupovs.TunisiaNaceur/Belhaj9:00 p.m. EST/ 6:00 p.m. PST
MenRussiaKrasilnikov/Semenovvs.ChileGrimalt/Grimalt10:00 p.m. EST/ 7:00 p.m. PST
WomenCanadaPavan/Bansleyvs.SwitzerlandHeidrich/Zumkehr11:00 p.m. EST/ 8:00 p.m. PST

LIVE: Indoor Volleyball Day 3

LIVE: Indoor Volleyball Day 3

After Canada's stunning 3-0 win over the United-States yesterday afternoon, they have a day to rest up before taking on hosts Brazil on Tuesday at 9:30 p.m. EST/6:30 p.m. PST. With the men getting the day off, the women take the floor of the Maracanazinho for their second day of competition. 

The USA women are looking to build on their opening win over Puerto Rico against the Netherlands in Pool B action. The Dutch kicked off their tournament with a thrilling five-set win over China on Saturday. 

Below you can find live streams for all of today's indoor volleyball matches. 

  •  All live streams will be available shortly before the start of the match. 

Morning

WomenChinaChinadef.ItalyItaly3-0 (25-21, 25-21, 25-16)
WomenJapanJapandef.CameroonCameroon3-0 (25-20, 25-25, 25-17)

Afternoon

WomenUSAUSAdef.NetherlandsNetherlands3-2 (18-25, 25-18, 21-25, 25-20, 15-10)
WomenSerbiaSerbiadef.Puerto RicoPuerto Rico3-0 (29-27, 25-18, 25-20)

Evening

WomenRussiaRussiavs.KoreaKorea7:30 p.m. EST/ 4:30 p.m. PST
WomenArgentinaArgentinavs.Brazil9:30 p.m. EST/ 6:30 p.m. PST

LIVE: Rio 2016 Beach Volleyball Day 3

LIVE: Rio 2016 Beach Volleyball Day 3

It's day 3 of the Olympic beach volleyball tournament and there's plenty of action on the schedule! Canada's Josh Binstock and Sam Schachter are looking to bounce back from their opening loss to Brazil against Italy's Alex Ranghieri and Adrian Carambulaat 8:00 p.m. EST/5:00 p.m. PST

Here's you full schedule for Day 3 for Beach Volleyball at the 2016 Rio Olympic Games.

Morning

WomenSwitzerlandForrer/Verg茅-D茅pr茅def.AusraliaArtacho Del Solar/Laird19-21, 21-16, 21-19
WomenBrazilBarbara/Agathadef.ArgentinaGallay/Klug21-11, 21-17
MenRussiaLiamin/Barsoukdef.PolandKantor/Losiak21-14, 21-17
MenQatarCherif/Jeffersondef.SpainHerrera/Gavira13-21, 21-18, 15-12

*Live streams available at game time


Afternoon

MenAustriaDoppler/Horstdef.BrazilAlison/Bruno23-21, 16-21, 15-13
MenAustriaHuber/Seidldef.USAGibb/Patterson21-18, 21-18
WomenNetherlandsVan Iersel/Meppelinkdef.Costa_RicaAlfaro/Charles21-16, 21-16
MenNetherlandsBrouwer/Meeuwsenvs.GermanyBockermann/Fluggen5:30 p.m. EST/ 2:30 p.m. PST

Night

MenCanadaBinstock/Schachtervs.ItalyRanghieri/Carambula8:00 p.m. EST/ 5:00 p.m. PST
MenSapinLiliana/Elsavs.CzechSlukova/Hermannova9:00 p.m. EST/ 6:00 p.m. PST
WomenAustraliaBawden/Clancyvs.VenezuelaPazo/Agudo10:00 p.m. EST/ 7:00 p.m. PST
WomenUSAWalsh/Rossvs.ChinaWang/Yue11:00 p.m. EST/ 8:00 p.m. PST

2016 Volleyball Canada NTCC

2016 Volleyball Canada NTCC

We are very excited to be at the 2016 Volleyball Canada NTCC this weekend!  We will be on site in Kingston, Ontario live streaming matches.  Check out all the matches below to watch your favourite youth volleyball teams from around the country.

Live Streams

18U Semi Finals - July 16, 2016 - 6:30 p.m. EDT

16U Semi Finals - July 16, 2016 - 8:30 p.m. EDT

16U Finals - July 17, 2016 - 10:30 a.m. EDT

18U Finals - July 17, 2016 - 12:30 p.m. EDT

FIVB: 2016 Moscow Grand Slam

FIVB: 2016 Moscow Grand Slam

Alright folks here we go! We are in Moscow, Russia this week for a huge Grand Slam tournament on the FIVB Beach Volleyball World Tour.  Grand Slams not only offer more money but offer double the points.  It is a crucial time right now for many international teams as they try to secure their qualification for The Rio Olympics.  As always, we've got the teams list, matches, scores and live streams right here.

Photo: FIVB

Canadian Men in Moscow

CanadaBinstock-Schachter
CanadaSchalk-Saxton

Canadian Women in Moscow

CanadaBroder-Valjas
CanadaPavan-Bansley

USA Men in Moscow

USAHyden-Bourne
USAGibb-Patterson
USADoherty-Mayer
USALucena-Dalhausser

USA Women in Moscow

USAKessy-Day
USAVanzwieten-Dicello
USASummer-Carico
USARoss-Walsh
USAFendrick-Sweat

Live Streams

Note: The button above is to an online betting site.  In addition to betting on sports, they also offer free live streams for pool play & elimination rounds for anyone as long as you sign up or connect a social account.  Be very careful what links you click on and what information you put into your registration.  We recommend creating a quick new email or twitter account to connect just for this site.  Live Streams will be listed here for semis & finals.

Men Main Draw Results

Match # Phase Date Time Court # Team A Team B Result Duration

Women Main Draw Results

Match # Phase Date Time Court # Team A Team B Result Duration

Women Qualification Results

Match # Phase Date Time Court # Team A Team B Result Duration

Men Qualification Results

Match # Phase Date Time Court # Team A Team B Result Duration

Olympics: Women's World Qualifier

Olympics: Women's World Qualifier

As we near closer to the 2016 Olympics, final qualification events are starting to begin for indoor volleyball.  Want to know how Olympic qualification is done for Rio? Check out the link below. 

The Women's World Qualifier runs May 14 - May 22 in Japan.  The teams competing at the tournament are:

  • 馃嚛馃嚧 Dominican Republic
  • 馃嚠馃嚬 Italy
  • 馃嚡馃嚨 Japan
  • 馃嚢馃嚳 Kazakhstan
  • 馃嚢馃嚪 Korea
  • 馃嚦馃嚤 Netherlands
  • 馃嚨馃嚜 Peru
  • 馃嚬馃嚟 Thailand

Live Streams

Every match will be live streamed on the FIVB YouTube channel.  Here's the playlist of all the matches.