Volleyball Source
Volleyball Source


FIVB: World Cup (Women)

Fivb world cup

The FIVB World Cup has kicked off in Japan where twelve participating countries will play from November 4th - 18th, 2011.  It's time for the first chance for countries to qualify for the 2012 London Olympics in the sport of indoor volleyball.  The top three teams at this World Cup will join the host Great Britain as the first four teams to qualify for the 2012 Games.

2011 Women's World Cup Teams

Kenya Kenya
Algeria Algeria
China China
Japan Japan
South Korea Korea
Serbia and Montenegro Serbia
Germany Germany
Italy Italy
USA United States
Dominican Republic Dominican Republic
Brazil Brazil
Argentina Argentina

The two teams representing the NORCECA region are The United States and The Dominican Republic.  These two teams, along with 7 others qualified through their respective continental zone qualifier.  Two countries were given wild cards and the last country on the list is Japan, the host.  Canada finished 6th at the NORCECA Continental Championship back in September.

Live Scoring

The World Cup tournament is very long and the teams will play many matches in pool play. If you'd like live scores, results and standings, head on over to the FIVB World Cup live scoring page. Check back to Kill on Two once pool play has wrapped up for information on the next round of the 2011 FIVB World Cup.